Book Review: My Last Love Story

75b18-my-last-love-story-alt-cover-3d-book

Title:  My Last Love Story

Author:  Falguni Kothari

Pages: 294 pages

Plot: Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes’s, Me Before You, My Last Love Story is a heartbreaking and poignant tale about the complexities of trauma and whether love can right a wrong.

***
I, Simeen Desai, am tired of making lemonade with the lemons life has handed me.

Love is meant to heal wounds.
Love was meant to make my world sparkle and spin.
Love has ripped my life apart and shattered my soul.

I love my husband, and he loves me.
But Nirvaan is dying.
I love my husband. I want to make him happy.
But he is asking for the impossible.

I don’t want a baby.
I don’t want to make nice with Zayaan.
I don’t want another chance at another love story.

***WARNING***
Weepers, keep tissues handy.

‘My last love story’ will take you on an emotional roller coaster. It revolves around three friends, who are best friends for the world, but mean much more to each other than the world can imagine.

The book is narrated from Simeen’s perspective.  She lost her parents at a very young age and found two best friends, Nirvaan and Zyaan to turn to. Nirvaan, Simeen’s husband, is suffering from cancer. But this doesn’t bring his spirits down. He wants to live life to the fullest. And he truly knows how to live. Zyaan is the base of their relationship triangle. He has a great deal of unanswered questions and bottled up emotions within him that makes his character even more fascinating. The characterization is powerful and the reader is able to understand each one’s perspective clearly.

While reading the book you feel as if a friend is sharing her deepest and darkest secrets with you and all you want to do is console her and pull her out of her misery. The book is about friendship, love, heartbreaks, misfortune, loss and hatred. The emotions you feel while reading are so baffling that you can’t really pick the right from wrong. Your mind says something but the heart speaks exactly the opposite. There is only a grey zone.

Mentions of Rumi’s quotes every now and then, makes the reading experience even more emotive. One of Rumi’s quotes: ‘Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and right doing there is a field. I’ll meet you there’ kept popping up in my mind while I was reading this book. The interesting twist in the ending was unexpected. The end depicts the fact that every relationship doesn’t need a label. There are a few beyond the worldly understanding.

Over all, if you are looking for a book that takes you on an emotional trip, this one’s for you.

Rating: 4/5

PS: – Thanks to the author for sending a copy of the book for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

